Old guy - Reisverslag uit Sofia, Bulgarije van Jeroen Au - WaarBenJij.nu Old guy - Reisverslag uit Sofia, Bulgarije van Jeroen Au - WaarBenJij.nu

Old guy

Door: JeroensadventuresinSofia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jeroen

28 Maart 2014 | Bulgarije, Sofia

On the evening of 27th March 2014, I walked home feeling full.

At 19:15, me and my EVS teammates met with Vasil Gurev. The purpose was to speak with us about volunteering at a refugee camp, mostly with Syrians. We met him before when he was a speaker at Key Forum - a forum on which nine speaker who have contributed to society in a remarkable way inspire an audience of a few hundred young people to also contribute to society. We met at Sofia university, were mr. Gurev is working as a nuclear physicist.

Mr. Gurev speaks Bulgarian and Russian, but luckily there was someone who translated for us into English. Next to the translator, there were two more persons at the meeting. All of them were of the organization which Gurev is the head of: University Rescue Squad. They were all there to speak with us about us helping at the refugee camp.

First we introduced ourselves.
Then mr. Gurev gave the same presentation that he gave at Key Forum again for us, with the translator translating every line. The University Resccue Squad is aimed at education about, prevention of, and rescue in case of natural disasters. It was founded around 23 years ago, then consisting mostly of students. Although it is am 'amateur' rescue squad - funded out of mr. Gurev's own pocket - it tries to operate as professionally as possible. They are succesfully being taken serious as a Bulgarian rescue squad. Mr. Gurev tells about some of the work they have done and concludes the presentation with some positive thoughts.

Then mr. Gurev asked us what we had in mind when wanting to help at the refugee camp, and told us about the situation of the refugees. The translator translated for us again all the points Gurev made. There was also some questions from our side which he answered.

One lady had left already, but we chatted some time amongst us. Then, three hours after the start of the meeting, the meeting ended. The seventy year old Vasil Gurev told us he would tell us about his past expedition to Antartica the next we would mee; he showed us his room where he had been working the past 20 years as a scientist; in the room was some climbing ropes hanging from the ceiling, which he uses for exercising; he told us there that he will tell us about his climbing of the Himalayas another time.

During the meeting, sometimes I felt a vague delightfulness that such an inspiring figure was so patiently giving his time and attention to me. I felt young people like me could really benefit from listening to such inspiring examples. I felt that it can be very valuable if some old person who has done some amazing things talks to young people, inspiring them to also do amazing things. I hope that if I get old, I can inspire young people with my stories.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Jeroen

I've been born and raised in the Netherlands. I've lived in Utrecht, Ermelo and Rotterdam. My parents are from China. I'm lively, smart, a bit shy and honest. I love wisdom and strife to improve myself. I'd like to contribute to a better world in the future and live a free life.

Actief sinds 16 Dec. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 357
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9131

Voorgaande reizen:

06 December 2013 - 28 Augustus 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: